5 ANSPs in 6 states operate 11 LRDs

Coming into force on 4th of February 2016

5 ANSPs in 6 states operate 11 LRDs


Establishment of 11 LRDs, which is spreading through AoRs of 5 ANSPs and which is recognized in 6 states, is coming into force on 4th of February 2016.

At the beginning of 2015, five ANSPs,-SMATSA LLC, CCL, Slovenia Control, BHANSA and BULATSA agreed to implement Long Range cross-border DCT options (LRDs), in order to proactively approach customer’s needs and service provision quality improvement.

At first, 11 LRDs options were taken into account. First of all, the need for DPS systems interoperability check was recognized by all stakeholders. Upon successful DPS system testing completion, all ANSPs started with the publication of 11 cross-border DCT options to be available for AOs from 4th of February 2016.

In this phase of the project, 5 ANSPs from 6 states directly participated (Bulgaria, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Slovenia, Croatia, Montenegro and Serbia), while Austria, participated as the associate member.

It is important to emphasize that this project will not affect the implementation of FRA of participating ANSPs AoR, which already brings savings to the AOs, but will lead to the local FRAs connection in order to provide maximum utilization of the airspace under the participating ANSPs jurisdiction, with the goal to introduce all the benefits that FRA concept brings to both users and providers.